Lodge 65th Anniversary Celebration Picnic

Honoring our Past – Looking to our Future

birthday cake
An organization meeting for a Sons of Norway Lodge in the Nation’s Capital was held January 16, 1943. Lodge Washington was adopted as the name of the local lodge. The Charter was closed March 19, 1943, with 73 charter members. A building committee was established 16 years later in 1959.

Now, 65 years later, as we celebrate the anniversary of the founding of our Lodge, it is especially meaningful that the picnic will be held at the Cultural Center. 

The Cultural Center was made possible by the vision of members nearly 50 years ago, and by the continued hard work of many individuals including Building and Investment Committee members and the Cultural Center Board members. 

It is with excitement that we look ahead to the many possibilities that having our own facility will offer as we explore and honor our Norwegian heritage in the years to come.